Leadership Through The Eyes of Disney

Many people don’t understand the power of Disney and the impact it can have on someone, but Tim Popma and Steely Pegg definitely understood.

“Leadership is not a position, it’s a process”

Screen Shot 2016-12-14 at 11.03.13 AM.pngI feel like I can’t do their lesson justice, as it
was my favorite session that I attended, it really opened my mind to so many realization that I had not noticed until I sat in that room. So, in order to bring justice to the lesson that they burned in my mind, I will walk you through their lesson step by step. At the same time, I will provide my responses so that you can see the way I worked through this process.

Think of your top five Disney characters, they don’t have to have any significant connection other than the fact that they are your favorite.

  1. Mulan
  2. Olaf
  3. Wendy
  4. Ana
  5. Tiana

Now identify and list their leadership characteristics (individually or generally)

  1. Dedication
  2. Whole-heartedness
  3. Unapologetically passionate
  4. Loving
  5. Patient

Please identify and explain which character you connect with the most and why?

Tiana from “The Princess and the Frog”

Tiana has a dream and she will stop at nothing to get to where she wants to be, I also have a dream and I am “almost there” but things like to get in the way so I have to keep pushing and fighting because I will stop at nothing to get what I want in my life. We both have dedication, motivation and passion.

List your top ten most important values as an individual (if you need examples click the link):

Family, love, balance, acceptance, passion, harmony, success, leadership, responsible, and genuine

Reduce your list to your top 4 values:

Family, love, balance, passion

Reduce your list to your top value:

Balance

List any barriers you may have to living a life congruent with your top values?

I focus too much time on one value over all others. I forget to take care of myself because I am so focused on my values.

How does this relate back to your favorite Disney character and their leadership qualities? Do you see connections?

Tiana was so focused on Screen Shot 2016-12-14 at 11.21.40 AM.pnggetting her dream that she forgot the importance of people and adventure, she lost sight of her other values because she was only focusing on her success. I see connections here because I want to bad to get what I want in this world but like Tiana, the work that I put in can overshadow the little things that we are supposed to enjoy in life.

“Hard work beats talent when talent doesn’t work hard”

Disney is not just a bunch of characters thrown into children’s movies, Disney is inspirational and provides almost everyone with something positive. The characters all have stories and have had to overcome so many hardships that people of all diversities could connect to, sometimes all it takes to see how realistic the stories are is “faith, trust and a little bit of pixie dust” or for the non-Disney enthusiasts, imagination.

Now What?

One thought on “Leadership Through The Eyes of Disney

Leave a Reply

