It’s Not What You Do, It’s Why You Do It

Simon Sinek is a “visionary thinker with a rare intellect” and is focusing his life on teaching other how to inspire people. In his TED Talk “How great leaders inspire action,” Simon explains the golden circle and explains why people follow certain ideas over others. The process is called the Golden Circle.

Working from the inside out is the Screen Shot 2017-02-09 at 4.16.56 AM.pnggoal of any organization/person. Why are you doing this? How are you going to get there? What are you doing? Many businesses start with what they do, then how they do it, and then why. If you reverse the order and start with why, the impact is so much greater.

If you are trying to spread an idea and get others on the same page as you, the goal is to do business with people who believe what you believe, start with your why. What is your purpose? Why is this so important to not only you, but anyone else who gets on board. The ‘why’ should define a purpose for a cause and you should believe what you are saying, once you can do that without focusing on the ‘how’ or ‘what’ then people with start to follow you.

“Everything we do, we believe in challenging the status quo, we believe in thinking differently.”

In watching this video, I realize now that I have always led my life with purpose, people believe me and my goals because I have always started with why. I truly see myself as someone who leads, I think that Simon said it best, “There are leaders and there are those who lead- leaders hold a position of power or authority, those who lead inspire us, we follow those who lead not because we have to but because we want to, not for them but for ourselves.” I want to inspire others to live their lives knowing that they have purpose in the world, there are so many who lose faith and succumb to the pain of everyday life and I want to be the person that they turn to in order to get the inspiration to continue because their stories are not over yet;

To prove that I live and lead with purpose, I am going to pursue my dreams and gain my degree to provide others with hope and happiness with music therapy and performing. Sometimes “all you need is faith, trust, and a little bit of pixie dust.”

Leave a Reply

