Campus Ambassadors

As a prospective college student, I was forced to pick schools to travel to and tour. Many people don’t believe me when I say “I made my college decision based off of the quality of my tours.” There were two that stood out to me the most, and I think it’s easy to say that Central was the better of the two.

My tour guide when I came to Central Michigan University the first time played such a huge role in my first impression of campus. She was a senior in her undergraduate program at CMU. My tour consisted of her explaining what every building was and what it’s purpose was, she made sure that I knew as much as I possibly could about campus in a 2 hour period. Her attitude and positivity about campus was so contagious, it inspired me to pursue the position of campus ambassador when I came to Central as a student. As a campus ambassador, I volunteer at least once every two weeks to give a tour of Central Michigan University to students and their families. In my position, I aim to instill passion and inspiration to those within my group.

I have more recently encountered multiple students who share the same major interest as I do. I have found that it is so much easier to communicate and provide insight about the University with people who share the same interests that I do. Due to my connections on campus, I have the ability to broaden my understanding of every avenue that a student can get involved in through the University. I can personally give a memory that I have had in nearly every academic building on campus, in doing so, I can make the tour seem so much more personal to my group.

From now on, as a campus ambassador, there are a few things that I am hoping to accomplish in the next few years. I want to learn as much as I can about each specific college so that I can assist students further on their path to success. I want to build stronger connections within each of my tours and if or when I hold a strong and positive influence on a life, to share my contact in case they need any assistance in the process of becoming a Chippewa.

I highly recommend any CMU student who loves campus and has a lot of knowledge on the grounds to apply to be a Campus Ambassador. Volunteering to share about something that means so much to me is such a powerful feeling. Fire Up Chips forever.

Leave a Reply

