Mentor Reflection

In my first year as a college student comes to an end, I am starting to look back at how blessed I truly was this year at CMU. I was blessed with the perfect mentor who truly became my ‘mentor of the year.’ If I hadn’t had Liz Colvin as my mentor, I don’t think it would be as easy for me to be excited to have my own mentee as I am. I am nervous to mess up but if you’re not nervous for something then your heart isn’t in it, and let me tell you this, my heart is in it entirely for my mentee.

During LDR 200L, a required course of my leadership minor, my cohort and I were put through a mentor workshop to try and prepare us for the responsibilities of being a mentor. Before the workshop I thought I had a pretty good idea of what being a mentor meant in my eyes:

  1. Help them adjust to college and get involved
  2. Be a friend and take care of them
  3. Provide them with all of the connections you have on campus

It sounded pretty simple to me but I felt like Liz had done so much more for me- she came over whenever I needed a mental health check, she made sure to meet with me for coffee or food at least once a week, she helped me understand as much of the college experience as she understood, Screen Shot 2016-09-15 at 7.49.24 AM.pngand she encouraged me to do any and all things I felt an urge to do while also making sure I was not overwhelming myself. Elizabeth Colvin is one of the best things that has ever happened to me and with her comes my entire Leadership Advancement Scholar family tree.

In order from left to right: Michaela Bundy (my GGG mentor), Katie Rae (my GG mentor), Amanda Yats (my G mentor) and Elizabeth Colvin (my mentor). I am so sad to say that after this year, both Michaela and Katie are graduating from CMU but I am so grateful to have been able to spend this year being mentored by all of them. Soon enough, my mentee will be added into our family with open arms and hopefully they have room for love because, our fam is so very good at showing love and taking care of those around us.

After the workshop and after looking at the line of LAS that I am under I realize that being a mentor isn’t about me and what I am hoping to do as a mentor. Being a mentor in the LAS program is about providing the mentee with whatever they need, providing them with all of the connections and outlets on campus to find their passion, being their friend when it seems like there is no one else around to support them. I am setting goals for myself as a mentor, but really they are challenges. I am challenging myself to step out of my comfort zone and be an instant friend to my mentee. I am challenging myself to invest my time into my mentee but remember to take time for myself. I am challenging myself to be available as a mentor to the entire freshman cohort, especially since I will be residing in the same hall with their class.

To my dearest mentee and the LAS cohort of 2017, here is to next year and all of the years to come.

Leave a Reply

