Sneak Peak into my Professional Future?

Screen Shot 2019-05-04 at 2.35.51 AM.png

I was fortunate enough to have an opportunity to serve as a site leader for an Alternative Winter Break through the Mary Ellen Brandell Volunteer Center at Central Michigan University.

Screen Shot 2019-05-04 at 2.35.29 AM.png
Sadie Kessler and Katelyn Miller Co-Site Leaders

12 almost strangers, two mini vans and over 25 hours in a car to get to Bay Pines Florida in order to spend an entire week doing service at the largest VA hospital in the nation. Working alongside other volunteers and professionals to provide service to those who had served us so selflessly in war. We learned of the horrific stories and lack of support that so many of our veterans have endured from back in World War II up to now.

Our group was divided into 4 groups of different service and put on a rotation to assist around the facility as needed. I however was put in a location in which they recommend that you stay for the duration of your time in service.

Screen Shot 2019-05-04 at 2.35.37 AM.png
Lauren Fletcher and Sadie Kessler (ME) two CMU students who volunteered in the living center.

I along with two others were volunteering in the living center of the Bay Pines VA facilitating recreational activities for the members of the nursing home. The service was very individualized and hands on within the facility. We became very close with the staff and guests throughout our five days of service making the goodbye so much harder. This experience strengthened my already existing love for our service men and women especially with the personal connection I do have to it within my family.

I heard stories of our veterans that were rewarding but then some that made it feel as though my heart was being ripped from my chest. The VA system is not as strong as it needs to be in order to properly support the men and women who tirelessly protect our citizens.

After having participated in this experience, I have come to a realization that my future career could very well end up in Military Morale, Welfare and Recreation. Hearing the stories of what people go through yet still have such a large commitment to gives me fuel to provide them with the quality of life they deserve.

Leave a comment